Over $9,000 in scholarships was awarded at the annual Whitehouse Independent School District Future Farmers of America Banquet.

Around 200 FFA members and guests gathered May 20 to honor members of the Whitehouse FFA. Attendants enjoyed a catered dinner and dessert was provided potluck style.

The largest monetary scholarship of the night was the Caleb Turner Memorial Scholarship for $5,000 and was awarded to Andie Galusha. The scholarship was presented by Madison Turner, the younger sister of the scholarship honoree. In addition to being awarded the memorial scholarship Galusha also received the Star Chapter Award during the banquet.

Other scholarship winners included Jaylon Stewart and Hayley Benken who each received the Whitehouse FFA Alumni and Friends Scholarships for $2,000 each.

Whitehouse FFA supporter Jim O’Bannon was also honored at the banquet and awarded Honorary Chapter FFA Degree. O’Bannon purchased materials for a welding project and let the Whitehouse FFA students make the project.

Whitehouse FFA Officers for the 2014-15 school year were announced during the banquet and include Emily Dahlgren, president, Victoria Zivney, vice president, Jessica Johnson, secretary, Jessie Tucker, treasurer, Rebecca Graham, reporter.

“We would like to thank our awesome FFA officer team for all their hard work throughout the year and helping to make this year’s banquet a success,” said Leanne Jamison, WISD career and technical education director.